Print

Important Dates and Reminders

Check this page often for a quick snapshot of recent implementations, upcoming changes, special events, important deadlines and other reminders. This information is also included in our monthly Blue Review newsletter. We understand that provider offices are extremely busy and, while this information should not be interpreted as all-inclusive, we hope this abbreviated summary format is useful to you and your staff.


Confirmation of Recent Implementations

Topic

Brief Description

Date Implemented:

For More Information

City of Chicago eliminating mandatory second surgical opinion

Update: Providers are NOT responsible to obtain benefit preauthorization. Employees will no longer be required to get a second surgical opinion from Best Doctors.

Jan. 1, 2020

Update: City of Chicago Discontinuing Second Surgical Opinion Requirement Jan. 1, 2020
(November 2019, News and Updates)

BlueCard® Members: Itemized Bills Required for Claims Over $200k

The claim amount requiring itemization is changing from the $250,000 threshold in 2019, to $200,000.

Jan. 1, 2020

Itemized Bills Required for BlueCard Claims Over $200k
(November 2019, Blue Review)

Laboratory Benefit Level Change for Some Commercial Members

Non-preventive labs will no longer be covered at the no member cost-share level for some of our commercial PPO and HMO members.

Jan. 1, 2020

Laboratory Benefit Level Change for Some Members
(October 2019, Blue Review)

 

Upcoming Changes to Watch For

Topic

Brief Description

Target Implementation Date:

For More Information

Government Programs: Change to Hospital Readmission Payments

Consistent with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), BCBSIL will review acute hospital claims to determine if such readmissions to the same facility within 30 days of discharge are related and may deny payment to the hospital for related admissions.

Effective March 1, 2020

Change to Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Group Payment Methodology
(November 2019, News and Updates)

 

Special Events and Activities

Topic

Brief Description

Important Date(s)

For More Information

Monthly Hot Topics Webinar for Providers

Each month, our Provider Network Consultants (PNCs) will be hosting a Hot Topics webinar to help keep you up-to-date on important information you need to know to do business with us. You'll also get a chance to ask the PNCs questions.

This month's webinar will be on Jan. 15, 2020. Register today!

See the Webinars and Workshops page on our Provider website for upcoming dates, times and online registration.

 

Deadlines and Other Reminders

Topic

Brief Description

Important Dates

For More Information

Annual Benefit Updates: Reminder to Use Electronic Options

BCBSIL will be updating member files with annual benefit changes over the next few weeks. We encourage you to verify patient coverage online using the Availity® Provider Portal or your preferred vendor portal.

January 2020

Notification of Annual Benefit Updates
(January 2020, Blue Review)